Genealogy Chat

Top tip - using the Genes Reunited community

Welcome to the Genes Reunited community boards!

• The Genes Reunited community is made up of millions of people with similar interests. Discover your family history and make life long friends along the way.
  • You will find a close knit but welcoming group of keen genealogists all prepared to offer advice and help to new members.
  • And it's not all serious business. The boards are often a place to relax and be entertained by all kinds of subjects.
  • The Genes community will go out of their way to help you, so don’t be shy about asking for help.

Quick Search

Single word search

Icons

• No new posts
  • Thread closed
  • Stickied, new posts
  • Stickied, no new posts

calling it a day-

Page 0 + 1 of 2

1. 1
  2. 2
  3. »
ProfilePosted byOptionsPost Date

Catherine from Manchester

Catherine from Manchester Report 2 Feb 2006 16:27

I have been using this site for 3 years or more now and can you believe it I am still trying to trace a birth date for my Great-Grandad. It is so very frustrating to find him on a census with his brothers to painstakingly research 1837 for all their births,(not to mention going to the Manchester records office) only not to come across one of them. My only hope was getting hold of his military records to see if his DoB was on them but no guess what that turns out to be a nightmare too. Can anyone please advise me on my options: a) Travel from Manchester to Kew on the off chance thay might have something, wasting train fare in the process. b) Waste yet more money on certificates that are not mine. c) Call it a day? I know alot of people are prob in the same situ as me so maybe they can appreciate how I feel. The best thing of all I have researced my 112 family members with no-one to ask, family dead, both parents etc through what my mother wrote on old photo's. Sorry!!!!!

Sam

Sam Report 2 Feb 2006 16:30