Genealogy Chat

Top tip - using the Genes Reunited community

Welcome to the Genes Reunited community boards!

• The Genes Reunited community is made up of millions of people with similar interests. Discover your family history and make life long friends along the way.
  • You will find a close knit but welcoming group of keen genealogists all prepared to offer advice and help to new members.
  • And it's not all serious business. The boards are often a place to relax and be entertained by all kinds of subjects.
  • The Genes community will go out of their way to help you, so don’t be shy about asking for help.

Quick Search

Single word search

Icons

• No new posts
  • Thread closed
  • Stickied, new posts
  • Stickied, no new posts

Was an ancestor adopted

Page 0 + 1 of 2

1. 1
  2. 2
  3. »
ProfilePosted byOptionsPost Date

Sandra

Sandra Report 6 Dec 2009 20:21

I am very new to family history research and I'm having a problem researching one of my grandmothers. I can only find her death certificate (which gives her birth date). She may have been adopted? Is there any way of checking if she was adopted?

Battenburg

Battenburg Report 6 Dec 2009 20:33

Can you post some details here and let others take a look?

Sandra

Sandra Report 8 Dec 2009 13:23

I knew my grandmother as Mary Baker married to Alfred Baker, deceased. He died before I was born - I was born in 1944- and all I know is that he was born in South Africa. All I can find, so far, is an Alfred Baker as an immigrant on a ship in 1912 but I'm not sure that it is him.
Her death record shows that her name was Baker , her maiden name Goodman and her birth date 25 August 1899.
A cousin thinks they may not have married and that my gran was married before. I have found a possible marriage between a Mary Baker and a Simon Fox. The maiden name is given as 'Goodman or Dicks'. I have found a Mary Dicks and have sent for a birth cert to see if the birth dates match.

Sandra

Sandra Report 8 Dec 2009 13:27