Genealogy Chat

Top tip - using the Genes Reunited community

Welcome to the Genes Reunited community boards!

• The Genes Reunited community is made up of millions of people with similar interests. Discover your family history and make life long friends along the way.
  • You will find a close knit but welcoming group of keen genealogists all prepared to offer advice and help to new members.
  • And it's not all serious business. The boards are often a place to relax and be entertained by all kinds of subjects.
  • The Genes community will go out of their way to help you, so don’t be shy about asking for help.

Quick Search

Single word search

Icons

• No new posts
  • Thread closed
  • Stickied, new posts
  • Stickied, no new posts

maiden names

ProfilePosted byOptionsPost Date

Thomas

Thomas Report 31 Dec 2003 20:25

Hi all and Happy new Year, Ok I am new to this and no doubt will be asking some 'dumb' questions. that said I have found an entry on 1837online for my fathers first marriage. His name is correct the area is correct the date is correct but the wife’s maiden name is not?! She was a widow so I though that she may have used her 'original' maiden name, if that makes sense? is that a possibility? or do widows use there 'original' maiden name? Strangely the birth entry for the daughter later gave her maiden name as her widowed name...confused ? I am?!?! ah well maybe it will all make sense after a few pints tonight! have a great new year Ian Laidlaw

Twinkle

Twinkle Report 31 Dec 2003 21:31

Legally she could call herself by whatever name she wanted. If she was known by her maiden name after she was widowed, then chances are she'd use it in her certificates. If you know that at some point she definately acquired that surname and everything else fits, it's probably the right certificate!

John

John Report 1 Jan 2004 14:51