Genealogy Chat

Top tip - using the Genes Reunited community

Welcome to the Genes Reunited community boards!

• The Genes Reunited community is made up of millions of people with similar interests. Discover your family history and make life long friends along the way.
  • You will find a close knit but welcoming group of keen genealogists all prepared to offer advice and help to new members.
  • And it's not all serious business. The boards are often a place to relax and be entertained by all kinds of subjects.
  • The Genes community will go out of their way to help you, so don’t be shy about asking for help.

Quick Search

Single word search

Icons

• No new posts
  • Thread closed
  • Stickied, new posts
  • Stickied, no new posts

keeping information

ProfilePosted byOptionsPost Date

Ian

Ian Report 1 Jan 2004 19:24

please can someone tell me which is the best computer program to store information, i am new to this and dont want to invest in a program which others have found to be of no use, there seems to be a differnce in price ranges and i have been told the expensive ones are not always the best regards Ian Bulled

susie manterfield(high wycombe)

susie manterfield(high wycombe) Report 1 Jan 2004 19:29

hi ian i use family tree maker version 10.i find it brilliant. all you have to do is enter your rellies you can even add photos.and print trees and family group sheets. susie

Helen

Helen Report 1 Jan 2004 19:31

Might be an idea to try the freebies first and see how you get on with those. I use the one downloaded from the LDS familysearch site and it does all I need. Someone else may be able to suggest others. Some of the more expensive ones print out wonderful charts and things like that but for newbies with fairly small trees a basic one is all you need. Save your money for ordering all those certificates you will want!!!!

Ian

Ian Report 1 Jan 2004 19:33

thanks susue and helen i will have a look a both suggestions

Jay

Jay Report 1 Jan 2004 19:36