Genealogy Chat

Top tip - using the Genes Reunited community

Welcome to the Genes Reunited community boards!

• The Genes Reunited community is made up of millions of people with similar interests. Discover your family history and make life long friends along the way.
  • You will find a close knit but welcoming group of keen genealogists all prepared to offer advice and help to new members.
  • And it's not all serious business. The boards are often a place to relax and be entertained by all kinds of subjects.
  • The Genes community will go out of their way to help you, so don’t be shy about asking for help.

Quick Search

Single word search

Icons

• No new posts
  • Thread closed
  • Stickied, new posts
  • Stickied, no new posts

I've hit a brick wall

Page 0 + 1 of 2

1. 1
  2. 2
  3. »
ProfilePosted byOptionsPost Date

Karen

Karen Report 30 May 2007 22:44

I'm new to genealogy (getting help from experienced hubby), and I've started tracing my grandfather's line. I found his father in the 1901 census and also in the 1891 census, along with his parents and brothers/sisters. Now as my grt grandfather was 15 in 1891 and his sister 17 they should be listed in the 1881 census as 5 and 7. I've found my grt grt grandfather in the 1881 census but he appears to be living at home with his parents and listed as unmarried! Now assuming that my grt grandfather and his sister are maybe products of a previous relationship but then took on the new surname I can't go any further back or even trace their birth certificates as I can't find a surname for them. Any ideas on where to go from here?

GlitterBaby

GlitterBaby Report 30 May 2007 22:46

Can you please post the 1891 details Maureen

Karen

Karen Report 30 May 2007 22:56